A Week on the Road | Australia

The other day I wrote that I was craving slowness in a world that runs too fast for me, so I packed my stuff, rent a campervan with my friend and hit the road!

We’ve been driving for a week through the long endless roads that connect Sydney with Melbourne and then down to one of the world’s most scenic coastal drives: The Great Ocean Road.

Processed with VSCO with c1 presetProcessed with VSCO with c1 preset

With the windows down and the music up we’ve been feeling freedom on our sun kissed skin. Making lunch on a camping gas, finding rest areas (and even petrol stations) to sleep, waking up to the smell of eucalyptus and the sound of birds, having showers at the beach and driving along the beautiful roads by the ocean has made me feel inspired and somehow full.

Jack Kerouak wrote on his book On the Road: “I was surprised, as always, by how easy the act of leaving was, and how good it felt. The world was suddenly rich with possibility.” 

Life on the road has been surprisingly easy, following the peace of time and the rythm of our hearts beating to the salty air. Life seemed to have another dimension, time seemed to happen in a different way.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

I’ve learned that you don’t need anything more than a rooftop and four wheels, a good book and nature. I’ve learned that we have the power to make things possible. Back at home the idea of a roadtrip in Australia seemed like an unatainable blurry dream, and now… Now it’s become another memory I’ve written in the lines of my journal.

For all the wanderers out there, I just want to tell you that everything you are dreaming of right now is possible, you just need to start making little steps towards it and eventually it will become your reality.

Don’t call it dream, call it plan.

firma

4 thoughts on “A Week on the Road | Australia

Leave a Reply

