Time is Like the Ocean

Hey, how are you? I’m fine. How are you? Good. Can I please have a watermelon, orange and pineapple juice? Sure! Would you like it large, medium or small? Large, please. Okay, seven dollars please! Thanks have a nice day.

Repeat that conversation x 1000 and you’ll have a pretty detailed idea of how my week went. I’ve been working a LOT lately. I’ve been making juices, milkshakes, smoothies, I’ve been serving ice-creams and I’ve been cutting fruit and cleaning, cleaning, cleaning everything. I’ve been working from seven to nine hours daily non-stop (not even to have lunch) and even though my bank account is happy about that, my legs have never felt more tired.

img_8118

I feel like the more I work the less I can be creative and the less I can discover and go on adventures with my friends. But if I don’t work that much I feel anxious about my bank account and I can’t stop wondering how am I going to survive in this country. Working allows me to pay rent and food but it takes so much of my time… and everything is so expensive. I would have never thought I would have to sacrifice an hour of work just to pay for the WC paper (I bought the large package but still… Welcome to real life, I guess!!).

It’s just now when it comes to my mind a conversation I had with my dad a long time ago. He was telling me that money is time, that all the money we spend can be translated to the time we waste earning it. And the thought of this idea freaks me out.

It’s so difficult to find the right balance between work and life. I feel like my flatmates don’t care about it, they just work and when they have a day off they go to the beach. But I have so many more things inside that I need to get out that I don’t have enough with just two days off (or even less). I need much more time on the week to get to do everything I want to do, and that frustrates me.

img_8108

But don’t worry, despite all these insignificant ups and downs, life is treating me good and yesterday I could spend my day off at Palm Beach, which was super nice! As I’ve said before, life in Australia is easy, you just have to follow the tempo of your steps and make decisions with your heart, everything else will come along!

My legs will get used to the pain and my mind will find the way to pour my imagination into something bigger than I can imagine, as always, good things take time and I just need to be patient and keep working and dreaming and pouring my energy (the one that I have left after work) into everything that makes me happy!

How was your week?!

Time is like the ocean; you can only hold a little in your hands.

Anna

Leave a Reply

