Greetings from Sydney

Dried my tears on the plane. Leaving everything you know and you love is never something easy. I put all my courage in the bag and waved goodbye. The 24h flight was one of the hardest things I’ve ever done, you have a whole day to ask yourself: Why am I doing this? And there’s no one there to answer that for you.

One of the things that makes it difficult is the fact that everyone wants to say goodbye and wish you luck, so you realize – in an intense week – how many people loves you and suddenly you don’t ever want to leave home.

img_7727

So I got into the plane the 11th of October at 10:40 h (absolutely recommend flying with Singapore airlines, I asked for veggie food and was delish) and arrived in Sydney the 12th of October at 20:15 h.

I had planned the first week ahead so I was going to stay in an Airbnb hosted by the loveliest couple. Staying with them has made the first days a lot easier!

img_7724

I haven’t seen the city yet, all I’ve been doing is boring stuff such as getting a new mobile phone, a new bank account, the tax file number, trying to find a new flat, a job…

But I’ve had time to walk around, Bondi is a beautiful area and it gives me very good vibes. I like to see barefoot people walking down the street with their boards ready to go surfing!

img_7726

When I arrived I didn’t notice the jet lag that much, so that’s good!! The next day I was trying to familiarize myself with the area (and did some of the boring stuff listed previously), the second day I did my first inspection (when you go to see a flat and decide if you want to rent it) but it wasn’t for me so I kept searching!! That same day I met a spanish girl on the supermarket and in the evening we went to the beach together and then I met her friends. She told me it was very difficult to find a place to live in, so I got stressed (not too much tho). The next day I decided I was gonna find a flat and I did!!! I was so impressed with myself.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

So, I’m moving the 24th to my new flat, 20 min walking to Coogee beach, I’m sad because I love my little room in this Airbnb, but I can’t afford to pay that much. In this new flat I’ll be living with some other girls from overseas and I’m excited to see how it goes.

And I guess that’s all for now, today I want to go exploring a little bit more, see if I can find something interesting to do or to take pictures of. I promised myself not to stress for things (everything takes time) and it’s working so far!! With patience you can get anywhere. I’ll keep you informed on how it goes. So far, so good!!

P.S. If you are in Sydney, and want to meet up, let me know!!

The fears we don’t face become our limits

Anna

img_7725

20 thoughts on “Greetings from Sydney

  1. Ahhh Coogee 🙂 I miss that beach 🙂 I left Sydney 2 years ago and still miss it until now. I lived in Kingsford, by the way. Hey if you love Asian food, you should visit Kingsford. Just ride M50 from Coogee Beach. We have lots of Asian restaurant, there. My recommendation are It’s Time For Thai and Ayam Goreng 99 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Enjoy the process of getting to know this awesome city. There is so much to take in, just be kind to yourself and take it slow. Try not to put too much pressure on yourself. I arrived here from the UK 18 months ago and have not looked back!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Anna, thanks for sharing this with us. Moving and starting fresh somewhere new can always be so scary, we did it recently ourselves. But it looks like you have some EXCITING things ahead of you. I’m very excited to hear about more of your adventures- and what an amazing place to live too!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Awww thanks! We moved from Ohio to Northern California (BIG move!). As hard as moves can be sometime, they always create some amazing memories and provide a new territory for incredible new experiences! xo

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

