Eating Out As a Vegan

Eating out is not something I do very often, I’d rather cook at home something scrumptious and save some money than go out on a restaurant. But there are some times where you have this need to go out and see what the world has to offer.

This last week I’ve been in Sweden – I’ll write a post about my whole experience soon – at first I was a bit sceptical and worried about the whole menu thing. When you go to a new place it can be easy to struggle with unexpected situations, so you must be somehow prepared. But I must admit that in the whole trip I didn’t have any problem, everyone was super nice and willing to make me a vegan option, something not that usual in Spain – One point for Sweden-.

So here is a list with my top tips to eat out as a vegan:

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Be nice and polite

There has never been one single restaurant that has told me that I cannot eat anything (neither in Sweden or Spain). I just ask them politely if they have any option for me and most of the times they are happy to find something delicious from the menu that can be adapted.

Ask beforehand

As I didn’t arrange the trip, I wasn’t able to choose the restaurants we were going, hence why I felt a bit nervous about the whole menu thing. But something I did is to tell the woman who was planning our trip that I was vegan. So she made sure to call all the restaurants asking if they had any vegan options for me. And so when I arrived there, they already had something done for me.

Some people may think all of this preparation is a bit uncomfortable and tedious, but I promise it wasn’t like that. I never felt like I was the weird one or that they had any inconvinience in changing up a bit their menu. So, if you are struggling with eating out, never give up. I do think that asking for vegan options is the best way to make them see that there’s people who are willing to eat like this, and so it’s easier that in the future they will put it in their menu.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Don’t care too much

Maybe you are not able to eat a filling dish, or the dish is filled with oil, or you simply don’t like it that much. But in the end, you are not in the restaurant to simply eat, you are there because you are spending some time with people, talking, discussing and laughing. So enjoy your time with them, don’t worry that much about the food, it’s just an excuse to go out and do something different. When you arrive at home, you’ll crave all your daily dose of fruit, but you’ll have a handful of experiences in your back, and that’s the most rewarding thing.

So my last tip would be: don’t be afraid of getting out of your comfort zone, there’s much more kindness in the world than you think. Be open about veganism and you’ll find how easy it is to go on adventures and be vegan at the same time.

Btw, these are some pics I took on our last day of the trip, we spent the morning getting lost in Copenhagen (the flight was from there since it was nearer than Stockoholm, if you are confused).

Don’t forget to always be the change you wish to see in the world. xx

A

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

 

10 thoughts on “Eating Out As a Vegan

  1. Great tips! The last one, don’t care too much, is something I really need to remember sometimes. Your attitude and philosophy is very positive, thank you! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I went on a road trip last week, and my biggest worry was about eating out. I brought as many snacks as I could, but still we needed to eat actual meals. I was able to find some vegan places, and a lot of restaurants where incredibly nice and informative of what we could eat. These are terrific tips though! I wish I had read this before I went! Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. These are really great tips! I’ve definitely followed them at times and struggled to remain calm other times… There was only one time when a restaurant refused to make a vegan, or even vegetarian dish for me! It was a thai place in London and they simply would not make me a dish without fish sauce. I ended up eating anyways, which I regret deeply! I should’ve just had water and gotten some fruit at a grocery store later haha 🙂 Other than that, it’s true that if you ask politely, restaurants are generally more than happy to accommodate you! Once the chef of a super fancy place even came out to ask me what I’d like, and he made me the most amazing falafel dish I’ve ever had!
    Marianne XX

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh wow how rude of them to not offer you an option… 😦 They should be more considered…imagine you were allergic they need to have other options… I’d have left the restaurant ahahahha Anyways don’t regret the past!! take it as a learned lesson. Thanks for such a lovely comment, I loved hearing from you 😀 Hope you have a lovely day Marianne xx

      Like

  4. Great tips! I used to be quite nervous about asking at first, I didn’t want to be an inconvenience but the majority of people are so happy to help! Some have even brought out the specific ingredients list for me to look through. But you’re right, theres so much more to eating out than just the ‘eating’ part, so I’ve never actually had a bad experience with it! Beautiful photos too, by the way ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s what happened to me as well… :S But once you realize that everybody is willing to help, the experience gets so much easier 😀 Thanks for such a lovely comment, hope you have a lovely day xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

