Graduating from Uni

On Friday I sent my final project (which has won an IKEA contest – I’m so proud about it-.) and now I can proudly say I finished uni, forever.

It feels surreal, after four years of hard work, of making new friends, of being bored to death, of having fun in class, of endless hours in a train… now everything is over. I’ve just finished another stage in my life, and it feels so damn good – and scary.-

Closing doors is somehow terrifying – I don’t want to grow up that fast – but at the same time it’s exciting. To me uni has been a very good experience, not always fun, but worth it in the end. I mainly have learned that everything is possible, that if you put the right effort into something you’ll get it, no matter what. Because effort is the key to success. I don’t think the subjects have taught me that many things, it’s just the whole experience that has made me grow up. During these years I’ve learned a lot, not only about industrial design, but also about  myself. And it’s an experience I’d recommend to anyone.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

I still don’t know what this degree means, nor what I want in my life, I think we are all in this together. We spend our lives trying to figure out what we want to be until the end of our days, and that’s okay. I really think it doesn’t matter who you want to be, it’s just something we set ourselves to keep going. The important issue here is who you are now, right now, in this moment, and if you are proud of yourself. I am.

So yes, I don’t have cleared my mind yet, I one day want to be a writer and the other a traveller. I don’t want to do just one thing in life, how boring. This degree is not closing me doors, to me it just shows that I have the determination to finish something important. It shows the world that I have knowledge in something, but that doesn’t mean it’s the only thing I know or that I have to do it for the rest of my life. Hell no!!! I finished this degree for myself, to remind my own self that I am able to do anything in this life, that no one is better or worse, we all are. And now things can change. What is more, now things will change. And I cannot wait to see what this world has to offer.

So what about now? You’ll be asking. Well I don’t have any rush, I just want to enjoy life. No plans. I have nothing in front of me, a huge horizon and no expectations, just time to kill at my own tempo.

Let me savour the moment.

A

9 thoughts on “Graduating from Uni

Leave a Reply

