How Veganism Changed Me

Almost three years ago I made the decision to go vegan. I had no idea what would come with that, it just made sense at the time. I was scared, especially for being judged by others, but deep inside my heart I knew I was doing the right thing.

So I embarked on this adventure on my own. I started cooking for myself, I started watching documentaries and even though at first I used to say, maybe I’ll go back at some point, now I can confirm I’ll never go back again. Being vegan has changed me, for better, and I can’t wait to see how it changes this world as well. I’ve learned so much, not only about health, but also about life in general. These are some of the lessons:

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Ethical by accident: I mainly decided to go vegan for my eating preferences, I just loved to eat healthy. But after watching so many documentaries and reading so many articles, I can say I’m now a convinced ethical vegan. I don’t see food in chicken or beef anymore, I just see death corpses lying on a plate, and that breaks my heart. I’ve just learned so much about compassion, about how corrupted is everything, how messed up our society is… I just don’t want to be part of it anymore.

No one can dictate me how to live my life: I was so worried about what people would think about me I couldn’t sleep. When in real life, it’s alright, life goes on, no one really cares. They just get annoyed sometimes, but they will understand it eventually. So I learned to never do something to try to fit in a group and that made me feel so much confidence inside.

A magical connection with the world: I used to be angry all the time and now I’m not anymore, I just go with the flow and appreciate everything a million more times. Veganism has made me think about the world, about how we treat others, about how important is to be connected with nature and our roots, and family. It has taught me to appreciate what I have and how lucky I am to be who I am with the people that surrounds me. I just realized that life is beautiful.

Health & fun: I think this is one of the main reasons why I love veganism so much. I’m healthy and I enjoy it. I have energy, I exercise daily, I eat an abundance of wholesome plant-based foods that not only make me enjoy every meal but also keep me going for the day with pure energy, because food is only that: energy. Veganism is not a diet, it’s a lifestyle, a healthy one. Good for you, for the animals and the world.

Above everything I think the reasons why I’ll always be vegan is because it makes me happy inside. It has changed me to be a better person. And I just wish everyone could make the same connection I did some years ago and could experience all the things I’ve learned. Veganism is magic.

A

16 thoughts on “How Veganism Changed Me

  1. Awesome post! I started being vegan because of the ethical reasons but I also feel that it changed me, mainly in the same reasons you metioned 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Wow that must have been hard for you, but sounds like you made the right decision. I have heard that vegan living is so much better for you… never seen a fat vegan either, so that sort of says it all. I’m not a vegan, but massively respect those of you who are. That said, I rarely eat meat, sometimes once a week and it’s generally chicken; organic. I think I could give up meat, but I’d really struggle with cheese.

        Do you still eat pasta though? Do you drink alcohol? By the way, I love Barcelona, it’s my fav place…. we’ve been there 7 times.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Aw thanks for the comment lovely, I’m so glad you are so open minded!! Ofc I eat pasta and bread and rice and potatoes… And I don’t drink alcohol but mainly because I hate the taste of it as I hate the taste of drinks with bubbles but if there’s a party I may have a drink… 😛 I’m so glad you love Barcelona, I feel so lucky to live in this place I don’t even have words to describe it ❤ I think that cheese is kind of an addiction for a lot of people ahahha I honestly never felt that cheese was difficult to give up but each of us is a different story. Thanks for your lovely words, hope you have a nice day xx

        Like

  2. Great story – I recently fasted in the traditional greek orthodox way meaning no animal products – i felt incredible. I can’t bring myself to eat meat these days – i am still eating dairy and eggs after the fast but i am thinking one day it will be a full transition 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lovely post – thanks for sharing our journey. I’ve made a change in recent months to make meat an occasional indulgence Vs 3-4 times weekly and even that has made me much more aware of the ethics of meat…I could easily go vegetarian now although giving up dairy well that would be a challenge….

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

