A Book to Read: Wild

After reading Into the Wild I became obsessed with the book and the film and the story. A part of me was tremendously shocked and confused and the other part of me was questioning everything and life. By then I was used to only reading fiction novels, stories that weren’t true, that never happened in real life. But Into the Wild was different, I knew the guy had existed, I knew the story was real, raw, pure and honest. And that left a deeper mark in my mind.

So I was in the hunt of a similar book. A book able to change a tiny part of me, a book that made me think and travel through imagination and question things. It has taken me a while to find that book.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

I found Wild – written by Cheryl Strayed – by chance, as all the books I’ve ever read in my life. I guess this is somehow the magical part of a book, one day you feel the need to read it. Maybe the cover or the title call your attention at a certain moment, or someone recommends it to you, or you just see the book at the library or at the book store or in a lonely shelve at your grandparents house, and you can feel that book calling your name, as if there was a magical connection between you two.

So you touch the book spine, you caress the cover, you read the title again and again and you know you want to be apart of it. So you pick it up, sit in a comfy sofa or in the shadows of a garden and start your own journey.

Wild is a thrilling adventure about a woman (the author) who is trying to find herself after her mother’s death and her divorce. So, in an attempt to resume her life, she decides to hike more than a thousand miles, alone, from the Mojave desert to Washington State, through California and Oregon – what it’s called the Pacific Crest Trail.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

This book is not a hiking guide, it’s an inner journey about a young woman who wants to find her lost self, who wants to forget the past and start over again. Strayed not only describes mountains, lakes and stunning landscapes, she also talks about her past, her feelings and her fears. She is a fresh voice that speaks with so much truth.

I found it amazingly well written, I loved and enjoyed every page of it and now I cannot wait to watch the film!! Totally recommend it to you.

“Alone had always felt like an actual place to me, as if it weren’t a state of being, but rather a room where I could retreat to be who I really was.”

A

8 thoughts on “A Book to Read: Wild

      1. Yes I have! Just like you I’ve also read Into the Wild (loved it!!) also, Eat Pray Love by Elizabeth Gilbert and Claiming Ground by Laura Bell. I really enjoyed reading those books. I have yet to read this one but I also heard A Walk in the Woods by Bill Bryson is great too 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. yeess loved eat pray love as well!! I’ll check out the other two for sure 😀 thank you so much! Now that summer is here I enjoy reading a lot! I love to sit outside and spend the morning with my books 🙂 thanks again xx

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

