How to Be a Runner

As I’ve mentioned in previous posts, running is slowly becoming part of my new lifestyle. When 2016 started I made a promise to myself. I wanted to change my life somehow and this year was meant to find new passions that made me feel good and alive. Running is one of them.

WHY? Because it helps me to be in contact with nature. It helps me to think, to concentrate, to feel positive, to be active, to be fit and healthy.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

I know the theory sounds nice and dreamy and encouraging. We all constantly hear the multiple benefits of doing sport and running, so we give it a go thinking our lives will change the minute we start running. We decide to go running one day, and then end up with our lungs about to explode, swearing that we won’t run ever again.

It’s part of the process. I hated to go running at first and now I love it. What has changed?! TIME. I gave time to myself. I started running 20 min. one day per week and now I like to run almost every single day (not in a crazy way, if I can’t go it’s okay). How this transition happened? Again, with time. A lot of time (years) and effort and a lot of suffering and a lot of stiffness.

So, NO. I didn’t have a good time running at first and No, my life didn’t change the first month, nor the second month of running. But then the third or forth month comes, and with your 20 min. run you start feeling comfortable and not tired. And you try to push your limits and go to a 30 min. run. It’s hard but you make it!! And let me tell you it’s SO rewarding.

Something I’ve learned in the last few years is that our limits are in our fearful minds. For instance there’s a little hill in Barcelona, called Tibidabo, I never in a million years would have thought that I could go running up the hill, it was just a ridiculous nonsense idea. But I did it, and it was not even that hard. See? Mind is limit.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

So first, work on your mind, build up strong power and will, and once you have that, everything else will come alone – with effort and suffering, because no one ever said it was going to be easy. But hey! Sometimes the journey is more beautiful than the actual destination, so enjoy the ride, or the run in this case.

Once your mind is strong, and you know your own goals (being fit, staying healthy, discover new places near your home… whatever it is) it’s time to take action. Put on your running shoes and get out.

The first thing you want to do before start running is to stretch. Running with cold muscles can result in a muscle strain that can keep you out of the trail for months, I used to never stretch until my dad got injured and that made me realize how important it is to spend some minutes stretching well your muscles.

After that, you can start running. Use your breath to find the rythm of your run. Inspire, expire. Don’t rush, take your time, no one is waiting for you, no one will judge you, just do what you feel comfortable with. And do it consistently, three or four times a week.

Run looking around you, concentrating in your respiration and in your thoughts, let your legs do the job and focus your mind on other stuff, try to think in blank and above all, enjoy the run!

Finally, when you arrive home, hydrate yourself with water and stretch your muscles with a foam roller, again to prevent injuries. This roller is perfect to massage the muscles after doing sport and it helps to release muscle tightness.

Now that you are a runner… how does it feel?

Don’t limit your challenges, challenge your limits and you’ll see how far you can go.

P.S. I would love to know which are your favorite posts, or if there’s something you want me to write about. If you want more recipes or more exercise or veganism stuff or whatever that comes to your mind!! I’d love to know that. I usually write what I feel like writing that week, but I’d also love to write what you are the most interested about!! So, let me know in the comments. Oh! And on another note, I’ve been uploading vlogs on my YouTube chanel, I really really want to start uploading more, and this summer I will for sure, but I still have to get confident about talking in english… Anyways, hope you have a lovely day. Stay Gold xx

A

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

15 thoughts on “How to Be a Runner

  1. Love this post! I’ve recently been thinking about getting into running. Never really did it because I was having a lot of trouble with allergies, but since I’ve become vegan it got better.
    Your post really motivated me to actually get started. Thanks for that 😄❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this post! I don’t like running but I did try to start. It lasted about a month, once a week because I kept doubting. I do want to take it up again but I will definitely work on my willpower first ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love posts like this one! I used to be a regular runner, but lost the habit like one year ago and now I’m struggling with doing any sports :/ your post was really motivating though and I have the feeling that I’ll start again soon!

    In general, I love your posts that shine full of your ‘joie de vivre’, how much you appreciate life and its little and big wonders 🙂 and the pictures you add are always beautiful ❤ does a friend take the photos of you?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awww what a shame… Hope you start again soon!! There’s nothing better than feeling tired after doing excercise hehe Thanks for all your lovely words! I’ll keep that in mind for my future posts 😀 And yeah a friend, my mom, my cousins, my sister…whoever is right there with me at the time takes my pics, there’s not just one person 😉 Have a lovely day xx

      Like

      1. haha first I’m trying to get my eating habits back on track again 😀 well, at the end I really love all your posts with the gorgeous photos! oh I see, so I guess you’re the talented person editing the photos so they look so beautiful 😀 and a gorgeous model too of course 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

