Creating My Own Space

My room is one of my favorite places in the house, not only because it’s mine but also because I get to spend a lot of time in here, doing my homework, sleeping, watching films or talking to friends. It’s a place where I can feel cozy and relaxed and comfortable and, above all: safe. A place where time happens in a different way, where energy flows offbeat.

My room is a place that inspires me, that pushes me to be creative and sometimes it also gets me bored. These walls know me better than anyone else does. It’s a place for memories and dreams and plans. And such an important place has to be special, it has to have something of you that other places can’t replace.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

My room has two cactuses, Phil and Fred, I bought them a year ago and they have grown so much since then. It also has pictures – a lot of them – and paintings made by myself. My room has got fake flowers and a big collage with timeless pictures of people I love. Oh! And there are postcards too. I also have candles and fairylights that help me relax when it’s cold.

My room has a bookshelf, with plenty of books, full of pages that have made me cry and laugh – and yawn sometimes -. I once put some seashells on my desk, to remember the ocean, and some stones, to remember the shore. I also keep some souvenirs from places I’ve been and some others – that I’ve been given- from places I dream. There’s also a little mirror that helps me see reality, and a window to help me see life through.

My room holds all the things I need to be who I am when I am with me, and that’s the best part of it all.

“Your room is a reflection of your heart”

A

6 thoughts on “Creating My Own Space

Leave a Reply

