Intuitive Eating

Eating is supposed to be something you do instinctively, when you have the need to, when your body craves some more energy. Sounds easy, but I know sometimes it’s not that easy as the brain plays a deep role in this whole system.

Something I’ve been learning in the past years is to learn to listen to my body. I think it’s essential to create a good relationship with food, this means that I believe in eating what makes me feel good inside and out. (And this is… surprise, surprise: a plant based diet).

Sorry for my redundance, I don’t want you to feel like I’m always preaching about being vegan but it really changed my life for better and I want you to be able to understand why and maybe try it out!!

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

I’ve learned, from my experience, that eating has to be something enjoyable, something you should not be stressed about, something natural. But our brains are programmed to eat as much as we can when we have food, because no one knows if you’ll be able to eat something else later (a very intrinsic prehistoric behaviour that we have). So, the question is: is it real to be able to eat only when you are hungry and stop as soon as you are full? Wouldn’t people end up eating a lot of junk food if they followed their instinct? (Cuz that’s what apparently people crave).

I think that the concept of intuitive eating is related to mindful eating and at the same time to a mindful living in general. Your inner you already knows what is good or bad for you. You don’t need me to know that eating healthy is the right thing to do, you don’t need my words to know that doing exercise is good for your health… but some people need some kind of extra motivation to start a healthy journey.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Of course, this concept of intuitive eating is not only something related to the vegan lifestyle, but I don’t believe that eating “intuitively” a croissant will do you any good. So, when I talk about abundance and intuition, I am thinking about wholesome foods!! I think if you eat an abundance of wholesome plant-based foods, there’s no need for restriction and so you can follow your instinct and eat as much as you want whenever you feel like it!!

The clue is to try to find the connection between your mind, your body & your soul & always follow your bliss.

P.S. Make sure to subscribe to my YouTube chanel to see what I am up to!! Click here to see my latest vlog.

Anna

xx

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

17 thoughts on “Intuitive Eating

  1. YESSSSS!! I LOVE this! I’m a huge proponent of intuitive eating. It’s definitely a process that took a long time to fully step into, but I think it’s worth the extra time and effort. It creates a lifestyle and sense of freedom, rather then restrictive dieting. Btw, I found you on IG… LOVE your pix and your blog! Just followed you on bloglovin!
    xoxo Cailee @ http://hellohealthyeating.com

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This was lovely to read! I’ve recently been thinking about this topic a lot, and I find that when I can relax and be mindful around food I feel so much better than when I get stressed about it. No other animal counts calories or macros as humans do, so we just need to eat intuitively to thrive! Loved your insight into this – besos x

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love the beautiful photos that always accompany your posts, you have a great eye for colours and style 🙂

    I’ve been vegetarian for three years and have started my vegan journey one year ago (though with some interruptions). Eating whole food is important to me but I struggle a lot with intuitive eating. I’m a bit jealous of people like you who naturally eat lots of veggies and love it – as you wrote, I know greens are healthy, but I have a hard time eating them instead of other things and as soon as my emotions are upside down, I turn to food for “emotional support” and don’t feel when I’m full. Was that ever an issue for you? Any idea how to find the connection between the mind, body and soul?

    besos desde Suiza 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh! Thank you so much Monika 🙂 I struggled with that when I didn’t eat enough carbohidrates, eating veggies is importat but carbohidrates is what gives you the energy and what makes you feel satisfyed and not crave junk food. So, if you feel satisfyed, you won’t need food for that emotional support I guess. I don’t know you nor your journey so I can’t really tell you how to do things but I think that, for example, if you feel that you need food as a support, then try to eat low calorie foods (as long as you have eaten enough in you meals before) such as watermelon or any kind of fruit really… this will fill you up very quickly hehe and if you need something sweet try to make some healthy cookies with oats and bananas, it’s super simple and delicious and healthy and filling 🙂 don’t ever try to restrict if you feel hungry!! I wish I could help more haha but, as I’ve said, I don’t know you and I don’t want to tell you whatever because this is a very important issue to say the first thing that comes to my mind. idk I wish I could have helped more :S Much love xx

      Like

      1. Thank you so much for your elaborate advice, dear Anna! ❤ I appreciate it a lot. I'm aware of the fact that we all work differently but I wanted to hear your opinion since I admire your relationship with food and life in general (I was really surprised when I read that you don't drink alcohol and I love the Shadow of the Wind as well!).
        I'll do what you recommended and see if it helps 🙂
        Stay awesome and have a beautiful weekend!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

