Am I a Runner?

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

I’ve been running for a long time now (you can read my story here) but I’ve never really enjoyed it as much as I’m doing it at the moment. I don’t really know what changed in my mind. (Yes, because I do believe that running is all about mindset. If you believe you can, you will.) But something made a click in my head and now I really enjoy my time out running.

I guess one of he first things that changed is the time of the day. I used to go running in the evenings, when I came back from uni. But I was exhausted and running just made me feel more exhausted. Everything was dark and I could not stop thinking: When will I arrive home?! This winter though, I decided to go in the mornings. It was the perfect way to enjoy the daylight, to get some vitamin D and also, ideal to keep me warmer. So I went one day and then another and then another… And when I came back home, after the shower, I could tell my day was going to be productive, because I’d already done something productive.

Feeling productive lead me to feel positive about my work and that lead me to feel better about myself. Now, running, is not only something I do to stay fit and healthy physically but also mentally. In the hustle and bustle of this life, we are all the time looking at screens, sat in our desks. And going on a run, even if it’s just 20 min. gives me a sigh of bliss at the end of the day.

IMG_9340

So, back to the initial question. Am I a Runner? My answer is: YES! If you run, you are a runner!! I’m not the fastest, I’ve never run a marathon but still I consider myself a runner.

I know this may sound a cliché, but if you are not used to do sport, I encourage you to start now. Not for the others, but for yourself. For your own physical and mental health. DO SOMETHING FOR YOURSELF. Being selfish is not always a bad thing. When you go for a run you are stimulating your body and your brain. It will lift your mood, you’ll feel good about yourself, it’ll boost your confidence and you’ll be more positive. You will also be preventing diseases such as breast cancer, osteoporosis and will reduce the chances to suffer a heart attack. It also helps to find motivation, fight against depression and will help to relieve stress.

The key to enjoy the benefits of running is to enjoy the activity of running. And the only way to enjoy the activity in the end is by suffering a little bit at the beginning. You’ll be amazed by how far your body can go.

“A run begins the moment you forget you are running”

Anna

xx

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

15 thoughts on “Am I a Runner?

  1. Guess what even I think I am a runner and I desperately want to be a marathon runner.
    I prefer running in evening because I am not a morning person. Yes even I am tired after a day of work and need lot of motivation to reach for my running shoes, but once I am on track and my heart starts pumping all my tiredness is vanished and I am blessed with extreme satisfaction post completion of a run.
    Loved your post.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Mornings are my best time for yoga and weight lifting. I would love to incorporate running before my work day begins. I like the part about attitude…of course I can run in the morning if I set my mind to it. Thank you for an inspiring post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awww that’s such a shame… I totally understand that if you don’t have time the least thing you want to do is to go out running but maybe you can go on the weekends, if you really want to start running again 🙂 It doesn’t have to be a daily thing, just something you enjoy in your spare time to relax and have some time for yourself. ❤ Hope it goes well, have a lovely day xx

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I just recently started running after a couple of years and it feels AMAZING! I missed it so much! I also agree with running (or starting any kind of workout) in the mornings. It makes me feel awake and energetic for the day ahead 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I love running too!
    It makes me feel so good mentally, especially if I’ve had a stressful day or I’m not feeling that positive. So I take the evening and just go for a run. Really want to try morning runs though to see if it makes me feel more productive and less tired during the day.

    Now let me just say that running with Barcelona as a view would be a great motivation!

    Lots of hugs, A

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

