My First Book

“…few things leave a deeper mark on a reader than the first book that finds its way into his heart. Those first images, the echo of words we think we have left behind, accompany us throughout our  lives and sculpt a place in our memory to which, sooner or later – no matter how many books we read, how many worlds we discover, or how much we learn or forget – we will return.”

The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

I can’t think of any better intro to describe what this book means to me. The Shadow of the Wind was the first serious (adult) novel I’ve ever read. And it’s become one of my favorite books of all times. I can tell you I read its 574 pages in a weekend.

This book is just everything. There’s fiction, mystery, love, death… and it’s so well and beautifully written that you can feel that you are somehow part of it. I do have to say that I feel a bit emotionally attached to these pages. Not only because it’s the first serious book I read but also because it’s set in my city, Barcelona. And hearing about places I’ve been to, streets I walk every day… that makes it even more magical and special.

Another thing that I find magical is that this book was first written in Spanish. I usually read translated novels, the majority of them have been written in English. And getting to read something that has not been touched, I think it’s pretty cool. Of course, I could read all these novels in English rather than Spanish… but you know, sometimes I’m too lazy for that (Opps!)

The Shadow of the Wind is one of these kind of books that you never want to end and when you do finish the pages, the characters still remain in your mind for a long time. I know it’s a fiction novel but after reading it I felt wiser, like I’ve had learned something vital and essential. And maybe I did learn something; I learned to care about the characters, about their lifes, their past and their future. Imagine, I didn’t want to go to sleep because I was trapped in its pages…

I would totally recomend you to get your hands in one copy, if you haven’t read it yet. I know you’ll soon get lost in its pages as much as I did and as much as I’m doing now, re-reading it again.

“Books are mirrors: you only see in them what you already have inside”

P.S. Which was your first book?!

Other books that have a special place in my heart: Into the Wild, The Opposite of Loneliness.

Anna

xx

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

 

6 thoughts on “My First Book

Leave a Reply

