Let’s Be Real – The Truth About Social Media

This week social media has been on the eye of the hurricane and I feel I also need to express myself on this topic.

I started this blog almost a year ago with the aim to share my passions, my thoughts, my photography, my experiences, things that made me happy… and I feel that along the way I’ve been losing this passion that I started with. Don’t get me wrong, I still love blogging, but I have this sense that I haven’t been doing exactly what I had initially planned in my mind.

Why? Oh!! that’s an easy one: because of FEAR.

Fear of not being accepted, fear of not having success, fear of saying something I shouldn’t, fear of being “discovered” by the ones that know me in real life, fear, fear, FEAR…. Always fear. And with every scary situation I went through, a little bit of my creativity & passion was gone. I thought the more followers I had the better and happy I’d be and so I spent hours trying to get attention.

When summer arrived I stopped blogging regularly (one has its preferences) and my audience decreased drastically and never grew again. What am I doing wrong? Is there a problem with me? Absolutely not!! But you know… my brain sometimes doesn’t want to hear what my heart has to say.

So after this summer my blogging analytics went down, and with it my passion felt hurt. I felt trapped in a 2D world cage, I felt unoriginal, always posting the same kind of stuff… And then this thing about Essena quitting social media happened and that made me think…Oh God, that made me think A LOT!!

I wanna be real, guys. Real and honest and true. I want to take part of this revolution that I can see coming. It’s here, I can feel it.

A revolution about health, environment, compassion, passion, truth, creativity, freedom, self-confidence, reality, life. This, guys, it’s happening!!

I want to be real and by no means quit social media. We have it now, we have all the power to be listened, to change this world for better. To take care about the environment, justice, health, to follow our passions, our dreams. We have this power to scream our message -whatever that is- we have this power because of social media, remember that. So let’s take advantage of this super-power!! Let’s be heroes, real heroes, human heroes!!

We think we are a brain washed generation but what about our parents or grandparents generation?? They would probably have to work in the same business as their parents (because that’s how it worked) or maybe they couldn’t work at all because they were women and they weren’t allowed and if they did they would have to study hard to PROVE themselves (now you can do something with your life without studying if you wish so), they had to get married with someone and have children in order to be “normal” and accepted by society… But they weren’t brain washed?!! We are as brain washed as we want to be… We’ve never have had more information, we’ve never been more free!! And it’s up to us how we use this freedom that we are given.

Let’s take what is ours, let’s take this freedom and change the world. Actually, do everyone a favour and don’t try to change the world, just spread your message with passion and eventually the world will change a little bit if you are lucky.

I wanna talk about important things, about life. I want to talk???!! I want to have a conversation!! I want you guys to take part in it!! Let’s talk about life, let’s have real chats! I have so many projects in my mind… So many ideas.

Last night I couldn’t sleep because I was excited about the future. My ideas get me excited and it’s 3:37 am as I’m writing this words. This world is so beautiful… I want to go out there and take pictures and feel the air and breathe and laugh and then come home and maybe write a post about it. Why? Not because I want to be approved by you but because I want to SHARE this beautiful moment with you. I might not be from Australia, you may not be from Barcelona. Let’s share the world.

See it this way: If I give you an idea (say idea, moment, experience, knowledge…) and you give me your idea, automatically we both will have two ideas… If I had kept this idea for myself I’d never grow as an individual because I’d always have had the same idea.

So here’s my word: I promise I’ll make a difference. I’ll talk real and I’ll make changes (blog & life talking). I’ll make quality content rather than posting religiously the days I told myself I’d post to engage you. I’ll keep away from social media when I’m with real people but as soon as I’ll get home I’m determined to share that moment with you!! And in return, I just ask you to give me your thoughts… Because at the end of the day this is what matters. Connection: Real people from around the world having real conversations about real stuff. (Sorry for the over use of reality!!).

So please, PLEASE, keep dreaming, keep caring, keep creating, keep believing & keep SHARING. Because I’ll be doing that too. And it feels so good!!

I truly believe that we, all together, can create a better world, a better comunity, a better life.

Be the change you wish to see in the world.

P.S: Now it’s 4:15 in the morning. I guess it’s time to say Good Night!!

Anna

xx

Processed with VSCOcam with a5 preset

17 thoughts on “Let’s Be Real – The Truth About Social Media

  1. Hi again Anna. No one is a robot that´s why we need small pauses or longer ones sometimes to check our status, situation, for ladding our batteries etc. and it´s quite natural anyway, Thanks for your nice thoughts and one of the photos.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This post really “hits the spot” for me! Maybe that’s the wrong phrase? Haha oh well…

    BUT what I mean is that I have been having these same thoughts (although I am not a blogger). But just about social media in general and that girl who went viral sharing how social media wasn’t “real” and that she felt so trapped because she was just posting to please her followers and earn money from her clothing deals.

    But what I realized is that social media can either be used for good or bad. For example, I think you are doing great things with your blog, and it is very inspiring and not “fake” like other blogs. I think social media just gets out of control when you are not living in the moment or when you are so worried about who will “like” your posts or how many people will follow you. These things are really not important! What is important is that you are sharing meaningful things, being creative, and connecting with others!

    SO please don’t feel like you need to “fear” what your honest thoughts are, and share them with us! I know i LOVE your blog (even if i don’t come on all the time), so please keep sharing ❤ But I agree, it's important to be in the moment and take a break from blogging or social media when you feel overwhelmed 🙂

    I also really like what you said about how people think we are really brainwashed this generation, but what about our grandparents and parents? They had to follow what was "normal" at the time because people were so judgmental! And people are still judgmental today, but I think we are breaking barriers and we are trying to accomplish things today because we are passionate about them, not because someone says we HAVE to do those things. Thanks for this post! have a good weekend! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You put everything I have been thinking so perfectly into words. I feel like I’ve always had a love-hate relationship with my blog…it started out with such pure intentions. I was blogging for me and I was loving it! But once I discovered that people were doing it so much ‘better’ than I, I thought lesser of my blog. I tried to make it into something it wasn’t. Heck, I even fell for that whole ‘create a niche’ thing. But this year, I realised: Why should it matter? I felt so limited by trying to follow the ‘rules’ of ‘successful’ blogging. Heck, I even questioned whether I should post some more serious posts because it wouldn’t fall within a niche. Who would want to read it? But those posts turned out being very well received and those were the posts I enjoyed writing the most. I feel like I have so many things to share. I have so many interests. I don’t want to feel limited! I want to write, and write and write, but most of all, I want to write for myself, because that is what makes me happiest. I may not gain a large following in the process, but that’s never what I set out to achieve anyway.

    I can’t say how much I love this post! I cannot wait to read more from you.

    xx Carina

    Liked by 1 person

  4. THANK YOU thank you thank you. This is my favourite post of yours. When I started blogging, I loved it. I really did. Now, I just feel like it’s pointless because even though I see that I have some people reading it, there aren’t many of them. There are never enough. And yes it makes me happy when I see that 80 people read my blog in one day, immediately after, if I get 40, 20 or ten the next day, I feel unaccomplished and useless. For a while now, I’ve been at 6 or 7 a day, and that sounds like nothing (and it really is nothing) but I just don’t really care any more. I can write for myself now, take more chances, experiment. It’s not like I’m making money off my blog or I’m relying on it; it’s a hobby. I thinkI forgot that for a while. Essena made me think, too. I deleted my instagram and facebook from my phone for the week and so far I don’t feel much difference. I just want a distraction from the work I have to do (hence the binge reading of blogposts!). I think social media is like anything, it has to be used in moderation. The power it has to do good is incredible: without it I never would have known, let alone done anything, about the influence of meat-eating on the planet; I never would’ve developped such a passion for feninism and issues such as LGBTQ+ rights, I never wpuld’ve been exposed to fantastic food, art and social commentary accounts. It’s a dangerous void to get lost in, but if used correctly, social media is a weapon we can use for good. I do however understand that Essena’s case is incredibly different than mine, and I’m so glad her voice has had such an influence in this past week. She’s truly inspirin and brutally, perfectly honest. Anyways, thank you for being equally honest. I look forward to future posts!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, yes, yes!!!! Thanks for this comment Marianne ❤ I totally agree with everything you said. Don't feel like you need a lot of followers or readers!! The majority of my "followers" I'm sure they don't even read my posts!! I'd rather have readers than followers and even if that reader is just one passioned person that believes in the same I do then that post is worth enough to be written!! Thank you so much for your feedback 🙂 it really means a lot. xx

      Like

  5. Beautiful post. Started my blog out of passion and depression [ok, had a bad breakup haha]. Ever since, I’ve gained so much confidence and sense of fulfillment through writing and sharing. Just till recently where I realized how realistic the blogging world is. Was near to drift away from my ultimate goals and dreams just to be socailly compatible! Good that I shut an eye and remind myself the reason ‘Real Life Nerd’ started 🙂 Have a great day ahead dear 🙂

    Real Life Nerd // http://www.vivienekok.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sometimes we have bad days and we want to stop everything and just not exist. I’ve wanted to delete my blog or instagram hundreds of times because there are days that I’d better sleep all day hahahah but then I think and think and I know that’s not what I want and I have to keep on doing what I love even if sometimes I don’t love it that much!! Thanks for your feedback ❤ I'm glad you decided to contiue blogging 🙂 I think that creating is one of the most beautiful things one can do!! Even if it's just for yourself.

      Like

Leave a Reply

