Panellets on the 1st of November

Happy Sunday & Happy International Vegan day!!

Today I want to share with you a traditional Catalan treat.

In Spain we don’t really celebrate Halloween but All Saints instead. In this day people go to the cemetery to visit their familiars and then we all eat together & eat chesnuts and sweet potatoes and panellets!!

Panellets are these bliss balls made with almonds & pine nuts!! Don’t miss the recipe 😀

Ingredients

1/2 Kg of ground almonds

1/4 kg of sweet potato

350 g of brown  sugar

1/2 Kg of pine nuts

1 tbp cocoa powder

1 lemon

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

How to do it

Peel, cut the sweet potato into pieces and boil for 20 min.

Strain the sweet potato and mix with the ground almonds and the brown sugar. Mix well until you get a compact dough.

Separate the dough in three bowls. Put cocoa powder in one bowl, lemon zest in the second bowl and leave the third bowl as it is. Mix all the ingredients together kneading the dough with your hands.

Make little balls with the dough. Use your hands & get messy!!

Once you are done with the balls it’s time for the toppings. Add the pine nuts to the dough that has no flavour (put the pine nuts in a bowl and sink the panellets so the pine nuts get sticked in the balls).

For the lemony and chocolate dough just coat them in sugar.

Put in the oven for 8 min. at 180ºC.

Note: If you can’t find ground almonds you can crush them with a blender.

Happy All Saints Day!!!

P.S. If you want to learn more spanish typical recipes make sure to check out my NEW COOKBOOK!!

Anna

xx

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

14 thoughts on “Panellets on the 1st of November

      1. Yess!!! I went to Split 🙂 and I really wanted to go to Dubrovnik but in the end it wasn’t possible 😦 So I’m really looking forward to go again hehehe I knoooow there are so many beautiful places to discover ❤

        Like

  1. There’s also All Saints in Portugal. Not like a huge celebratory thing I guess, but people go to cemeteries to visit familiars too.

    Never heard of panellets before. They look super yummy and I’m definitely trying them 🙂

    Lots of hugs, A

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah!! I know Spain is not the only one that doesn’t celebrate Halloween 🙂 but I needed to put it out there hehe!! Thanks for all your lovely comments Admila ❤ you definitely have to try panellets 😉

      Like

      1. There’re some celebrations related to Halloween, but nothing that big either.
        I didn’t know Spain celebrated All Saints, so I’m glad you did this post ❤
        I'm definitely trying panellets, just have to buy pine nuts 😉

        Also, you're welcome for the comments. I really like you blog!!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh my

    This looks fantastic. I need to try these immediately! I’ve been getting really into veganism (I’m already veggie) and the thing that’s been bugging me most is desserts (although I just bought a book that looks amazing so I’ll be binge reading that and making all the desserts in it very soon) so these look PERFECT.
    Thank you!!
    Marianne

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

