A Book For this Summer: The Opposite of Loneliness

“We are young. We’re so young. We’re twenty-two years old. We have so much time. There’s this sentiment I sometimes sense, creeping in our collective conscious as we lie alone after a party, or pack up our books when we give in and go out – that it is smehow too late. That others are somehow ahead. More accomplished, more specialized. More on the path to somehow saving the world, somehow creating or inventing or improving. That it’s too late now to BEGIN a beginning and we must settle for continuance, for commencement”

She was young, she had all her life ahead. She was brilliant. But a car accident cut off her wings. Marina Keegan, she was twenty-two.

I stumbled across her book by chance and her story shook my mind like a hurricane. You know when you hear or read a story, maybe in the newspaper, on the TV or on the radio. A story that can’t be heard by some people but for some reason your head keeps on thinking about it all the time. And the guy from the news continues reading, talking… And Why?! Why your head can’t stop thinking about it? Then you google it. But, of course, google is not enough to stifle the urge of knowledge. And you need to buy the book, you need to get to know this person, you need to know the details.

The Opposite of Loneliness is a recopilation of her work, her thoughts, her truth. She speaks fresh, young, idealistic, worried, indignant… And above everything she speaks with her heart. Take a look at her work because I think it’s the perfect reading for this summer!

“We don’t have a word for the opposite of loneliness, but if we did, I could say that’s what I want in life”

P.S. Make sure to check out the interview I answered for the lovely Niki from Living Whole Eating Well to get to know me a little bit better!!

Anna

xx

Processed with VSCOcam with a5 preset Processed with VSCOcam with a5 preset Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with a5 preset Processed with VSCOcam with a5 preset

32 thoughts on “A Book For this Summer: The Opposite of Loneliness

  1. I love the you do it … writing straight but so warm way. Thanks for knowing you better and your life style recommendations. I can almost feel the mild & cooling seawind on my skin by watching your new photos. They are very fine and sensuel ones too if you allow me to say so.

    Like

  2. This sounds like such an inspiring, yet relatable and attainable book. It really sounds like I’d relate to Marina’s idealistic, dreamer thoughts. I’ll look for it in the book shop as soon as i got down town! I’m really excited to read it now!
    Marianne 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great pictures as always. Make me want to go away….with a good read…. So, I just ordered The Opposite of Loneliness which appears to be a good but maybe a little painfull read? It will definitively be in my summer suitcase! Have a great day

    Liked by 1 person

  4. That seems like such an amazing novel! I added it to be TBR list on goodreads immediately after reading the synopsis. I read your interview and I never knew that you were on a plant based diet! I have been considering completely switching for a while now; if you were to do a “Plant Based for Beginners” blog post, that would be greatly appreciated. I am passionate about conscious living and eating as well, so it’s refreshing to see someone with similar viewpoints!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thoughtful words and love the quote. Very thought provoking! And lovely photos! As an artist, I’m always on the look out for beautiful pictures that speak something. Especially love the first one. Would you mind if I kept it on file to maybe paint? (Would credit you of course !)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey Grace!! Thank you so much, so glad you find my pictures interesting 😀 Are you a painter?? I’d love to see your drawings!! And of course, as long as you give me credit, you can use my photo to paint it!! I’d love to see the result!!! Can’t wait hehe

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Hi Anna,

    Just stumbled across your blog today, so glad I have! it’s beautiful – will stay around for sure.

    I came across The Opposite of Loneliness in a bookstore one day on my lunch hour. I stood there reading the blurb in the shop and couldn’t quite believe what my eyes were seeing. I kept telling myself that it was a story rather than truth, sadly not. I bought the book and devoured it on my journeys to work. It’s such a hard hitting home book that you can’t ignore the message – especially when you’re a similar age and have similar thoughts. Marina’s writing is just impeccable and so beautiful, that it’s even harder to comprehend.

    A very good book recommendation – a summer read for sure, so that you can be enjoying the sun and immersed in happy thoughts so that you don’t get too down. I read it in winter…the tears flowed for sure.

    Thanks again,
    Vicky

    http://www.ohbeans.co.uk/blog/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

