Cucumber & Quinoa Salad

It’s hot, it’s really hot in Barcelona!! And the only thing that I want is to eat tons of cold watermelon and this salad!! The perfect combination for a refreshing, light and scrumptious meal.

I find that whenever I look for new recipes in other blogs (especially the ones that are more famous) they are always using weird ingredients… I know that maybe they are from Australia and then using passion fruit is normal or they are from Germany and kale is normal… but here, in the Mediterranian zone, there are not these kind of foods in regular stores. So this summer I’ll try to make the most of this Mediterranian Spanish style and I’ll try to make recipes with what I have in the store instead of waisting time trying to find expensive ingredients that in the end I don’t even like that much.

Hope you like this one!!

Ingredients (4 servings)

4 tsp hummus

mixture of leaves

cherry tomatoes

fresh mint

a handful of edamme beans

1/2 cucumber

1 cup of peas

1 cup of quinoa

1/2 lemon

olive oil, salt, pepper

How to do it

I first started by making my own hummus.

Put some water to boil and add the quinoa for 15 min. or until it’s cooked. Boil the edamme beans and peas for 5 min (you can put them in the quinoa pan to save energy).

Place the mixture of leaves in a bowl and drizzle some olive oil, vinegar, salt, pepper and any dressing that you like.

Once the quinoa is cooked, chop some fresh mint and mix well with the quinoa, peas and edamme beans and drizzle some lemon juice on top. Stir.

Fill half of the bowls with the green salad and the other half of the bowls with the quinoa.

Cut some cucumber and cherry tomatoes and place on top to give an extra freshness to the salad.

And lastly, for the creamy part, place a generous tablespoon of hummus on top.

And there you go!! The perfect summer salad 🙂 Enjoy!

Anna

xx

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with a5 preset

42 thoughts on “Cucumber & Quinoa Salad

  1. I love your blog! I’m so happy that I stumbled upon it (or rather that you stumbled upon mine and I was able to find you)! This salad looks and sounds delicious. I will definitely have to give it a try soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s crazy hot here in Germany too, all I wanna is to eat fruits and such salads too! Really love your recipe, it’s just perfect right now!
    Btw unfortunately you can only buy kale in Germany in the winter when it’s in season 😦

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

