Spring Memories : Strawberries & Juice

If there’s something that smells and tastes like spring to me is this delicious and simple bowl of strawberries and orange juice freshly squeezed.

When spring comes, and with it the season of strawberries, my mum used (and still does) buy a box of strawberries and prepares a huge bowl of these. The secret is to let the preparation rest in the refrigerator for a few hours so that the taste of strawberries soak into the juice. After that time the juice will have a reddish colour and the strawberries will be soft and cold, perfect to enjoy a sunny Sunday morning in the garden.

It may not seem the most exciting recipe but to me is a lot more than just a delicious mixture. As soon as I smell or taste this combination all the past springs from my childhood come back to my mind.

“The best things in life aren’t things”

Ingredients:

strawberries

oranges to make jucie

How to do it:

Cut the strawberries and put in a bowl.

Make orange juice (enough to cover the strawberries).

Let it cool for an hour in the refrigerator and ENJOY!

Anna

xx

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

42 thoughts on “Spring Memories : Strawberries & Juice

  1. Oh wow, my mum used to make this with grapes, I completely forgot about it until now. I must try this with strawberries, a real blast from the past, thank-you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love the simplicity of this and the colors are beautiful. I’ll have to try it with strawberries from my garden as soon as they are ripe.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. My gran uses this idea when she made fruit salads! She’d also add flaked almonds on the top, I think I’m going to have to make a fruit salad tomorrow and squeeze orange juice over it! Thanks for this post it’s really inspired me and reminded me of something I might have otherwise forgotten!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you Berry much Anna. You hit me again. The tastes of childhood stays however. Homemade strawberry jam was the one for with pancakes. The hunting of real & original tastes is still continueing.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I love it when the simple things trigger awesome memories. Even being outside in Spring and Summer is enough to bring me back 🙂 Your recipe looks refreshing and easy, and totally perfect for cooling off on the warm days to come.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

