5 Tips to Take the Perfect Picture

Hello there!!

I’m so amazed and thankful by how much love I am receiving for my pictures that today I wanted to share with you some of my photography secrets *Shh!!*

I’ve always liked photography, my grandad used to take pictures all the time and then put them in albums, one for each grandchildren. And when we went to his house we used to seat in a corner for hours looking back at the old pictures and we would always laugh at the same ones… (Ah!! So many memories). I have to admit that nothing beats film but you know… everyone likes to delete that crazy picture!!

So let’s get into it:

1. Invest in a GOOD camera. By saying this I’m not telling you to spend a LOT of money but a little bit. I use a Canon 1100D and even though I’d love to have a better one, I think it’s pretty good. I’d say that If you want to start taking good quality pictures you should save for a while or wait until it’s your birthday. I got mine for my eighteenth birthday and it still works like the first day. So, in my opininion, it’s a good investment.

2. Notice the DETAILS. Three years ago I did a one-afternoon photowalking course that consisted of walking around the city while taking pictures. I remember nothing about what I learned there, but I do remember that the teacher told me: I see that you really like detail. And she was right!! I love to blur the background and focus on something. So that’s my second tip: FOCUS!

3. Lightning. Light is SO important. I always take shots at day time and outdoors, if possible. In winter that’s crazy because there are not many hours of sun. But really, if you can, wait until there’s enough light.

4. Edit. Your camera might be the BEST in the market but you need to edit it anyway because we are not professionals. Right? I’m lucky enough to have learned Photoshop at uni and I use that to edit my photos, but you can use any program that you want, as long as it works for you. You can also use your phone, I’m obsessed with vscocam and it’s the only editing app that I use. That says something!!

5. Practice, practice and practice. I promise you’ll get better!!!

Hope you liked these tips. See you soon and keep on practicing.

Anna

xx

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

40 thoughts on “5 Tips to Take the Perfect Picture

  1. Thank you for the tips. I have just gotten a Canon 30D secondhand for pretty cheap and have been spending any spare moment to work it out properly. Your post has helped with the non tech stuff. Haha.
    I love the film camera by the way, I finally found an old Olympus. EEE!

    B.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Really good tips, I am also obsessed with vsco cam! It’s amazing for editing, especially for instagram. I love just wandering round with my camera taking photos – also learnt off my grandad who had a slight photography obsession and taught me about finding the right background and thinking about drawing your eye to the main details in the photo x

    http://www.sparklythursdays.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

