Hummus

Hi everyone. Happy Easter!!

Today I decided to make this delicious hummus. You can never go wrong with hummus. Right? I love it because you can eat it whether as a side dish, with some crakers or sliced carrots, or as a salad dressing. The texture is creamy and the flavor intense, perfect to give an exotic touch to any dish. There are milions of hummus recipes and I admit that every time that I do this is slightly different, but always amazing!! Here is how I do it, hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

Ingredients:

1/2 lemon juice

100 g chickpeas

1 tsp tahini (seseme seeds and water)

1 clove of garlic

water

parsley leaves

1/2 tbsp cumin

1/2 tbsp paprika

salt, olive oil, pepper

ingred

Recipe:

To do the perfect hummus you will need tahini, and for that you have two options: you can buy it or you can do it yourself. I personally prefer to do it myself because it just takes an extra minute.

The first step is to toast the sesame seeds, you can add 2 tbsp of those in a pan and let them toast for 5 min until their colour gets darker. Then you’ll need to add the sesame seeds into a food processor with 4 tbsp of water or olive oil, and then start blending (you may need more water to create a creamy texture).

Once you have the tahini you can start making the hummus!!

I decided to cook myself the chickpeas but you can buy them in cans if that’s easy for you. I let the chickpeas soak in cold water overnight and in the morning I boiled them for 20 min while I was making the tahini.

When the chickpeas are cooked you just need to blend with the food processor the chickpeas together with the lemon juice, 1 tbsp of tahini, the clove of garlic, paprika, cumin, salt, pepper and 2 tbsp of water and mix it. You will see that you’ll need more water, I never measure the amount of water that I use, just go adding until I find the perfect texture. In the end you should have a creamy texture as if it was a paté.

And that’s it!! So easy and beyond delicious. I decided to put the hummus in some old yogurt pots and then decorated the top with some chopped parsley and some chickpeas that I left aside.

Here is the result. Tell me, how you do your hummus?

Anna

xx

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

95 thoughts on “Hummus

  1. Loved your recipe and photos; I’ll definitely be trying to make my own tahini! I like adding a roasted red pepper to my hummus, and/or sprinkling some smoked paprika on top. Being on a wild garlic craze at the moment, I think some of that finely chopped and whizzed with humus would be great too!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I just bought fresh chickpeas and a jar of tahini a few days ago to make hummus. But what I really love about this post is the home made tahini from just sesame seeds and water. I’m definitely going to try this. I’m on a mission to make as much home-made stuff as I can rather than buying “chemicals/preservatives in a can/container” from the store all the time.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

