Running

Hello people!!

Today I want to encourage you to start running (jogging?¿) by explaining my own experience. I’ve never been a crazy sporty person, I like to do some sport but just when I feel like I really want to do it, and that’s not every single day. I like to swim, walk, run, ski and sail (you can see here that team sports are not my thing).

Since I was a little girl I’ve lived in a healthy and sporty enviroment. My dad and my brother love to do sport and even though is not my passion, I’ve learned to love it as well. I started running five or six years ago and I admit that I haven’t been consistent all that time but neither I’ve left it.

During all this years my running rutine has changed so much. At the beginning I would go with my dad (he encouraged me to start) and then I convinced my friends to do the same. We would go after school or on a Sunday morning and we had a lot of fun together.

Things changed when we started going to university, we all had different schedules and that rutine started to be inconsistent and finally we all went our separate way. This is the time when I had to decide whether I’d like to run alone or basically not run at all. I was a bit scared and ashamed (I didn’t want to find anyone known while I was running) but after thinking a little bit I realised that there’s no point in being ashamed for doing sport, so I kept on running.

I like to run through the streets and going to parks. I’ve never been a gym girl. I don’t like the feeling of being trapped in a gym nor the smell of it. I like to feel the fresh air flow into my lungs and caress my cheeks. So, yes, going to the gym having the fresh air outside is not even an option for me (besides the money that costs).

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

So here I’ve made some lists (please notice that I’m no expert by any means, I’m just explaining my experience and the tips that worked for me).

Tips to START running:

– It’s all mental. If you think you can, then you will. It’s not easy at first, the first two or three months are going to be hard. Train your brain, plan a routine and stick with it. Start with 20 to 30 minutes and then go on increasing the time as you feel comfortable with it.

– Find your route. You need to feel comfortable with the route you are taking, if it’s too much, then try to find another one. I found one perfect for me and I love it because I know exactly how long I’ll be running.

– Take a break. I am not all the time running, once in a while I stop and start walking until I feel like I want to run again (2 to 5 min.)

– Stretch your muscles before and after. It’s important in order to prevent injuries.

– Enjoy. This is the best part, and the one that only can be noticed over the time. I personally don’t like to run with music, I like to listen to my breath and it’s the best time for me to think. As son as I start running my brain starts an inner monologue. But there’s people who needs their music to motivate themselves. You’ll have to find what works better for you.

Some REASONS why you should start running:

– To get healthy and fit. You don’t need a ton of sport, two or three times a week is enough to live longer and prevent disease.

– To feel better with yourself and your body. It’s going to be hard but when you’ll arrive at home, after the shower. Believe me, then it’s all going to be worthy.

– To have more energy and be more positive.

– To discover new places and discover views like this ones that I found the other day while I was running.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

After this, you cannot tell me that is not worthy. Hope this has helped you to get motivated.

Let me know if you would like more posts like this.

P.S: Yes, I went running with my camera and WOAH that was hard, but I really wanted to do this post.

Anna

xx

48 thoughts on “Running

  1. Firstly, I love these photos! Secondly, I actually went on my first run a few days ago and I’m determined to make it work! I’m hoping that it will have a really positive impact on my life, like it has done with you! x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Anna,

    Thanks for such a motivational post – I’ve recently taken up a more rigorous fitness regime, and while I’m cycling in the gym the feelings still apply! Seeing myself constantly improve and enjoy my body’s new strength is great. Hopefully I’ll progress to running an outdoor route when I dare to brave the cold weather!

    Besma (Curiously Conscious)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You are so cute! I cracked up when you said you were running with a camera. In my head I had an image of a girl with a big camera on her neck swinging up and down as she ran.

    Anyways, love running, but never really for long a time. People have told me to get runners half size bigger because your feet swell when you run and you don’t want to bruise your toes.

    Juju
    http://www.jujusprinkles.com

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hey girl! Really loved this post, really great tips and it is SO true. I use to run in college and I miss it terribly! Cant wail for the weather to warm up so I can get back outside. Hope you have a lovely day!

    XO JNESS

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This is just beautiful and very inspiring, thank you for this post. I personally have always wanted to be a regular runner – I too love the feeling of it and the scenery you get to observe – but have struggled with the remnants of my asthmatic tendency, when I started running I couldn’t do any more than 7-8 minutes without crumbling on the ground searching for air. Now I’m at 24 minutes, but adding each minute is a fight against my lungs and I’ve found it difficult to be consistent with my runs throughout this cold and wet English winter. But I love the results I get, being leaner and being able to go up five flights of stairs without even having to stop to catch my breath! My goal is to get to 30 minutes by the end of June and then I think I’m going to stop increasing my time for a little while and concentrate on my speed. Running certainly is a challenge, but such a rewarding one!

    Liked by 3 people

Leave a Reply

