Salad in a Jar

Lately the trend of the Mason jar is getting serious, there is a milion things you can do with them from candles to salads. Some weeks ago I saw this trend on Pinterest and I could NOT resist to do it myself. It’s as simple as that, yes, you just have to put a salad in a jar!! It may seem a little bit odd but the result is amazing and also very useful if you have to eat out. In my opinion, when you use a plastic container, the food that is inside gets a disgusting taste of plastic that doesn’t make me enjoy the meal. As you all know these jars are made of glass which is perfect to preserve the properties of the food and therefore enjoy the dish you’ve made some hours before.

So, today I came up with this simple and easy recipe. Take note.

Ingredients:

1/2 avocado

1 carrot

1 tomato

some cherry tomatoes

some baby potatoes

1/2 onion

a handful of spinach

Salt (Maldon), olive oil, pepper, herbs, and any dressing that you love

ingred

Recipe:

The first thing you have to do is the dressing for your salad. It can be any dressing that you like, a vinaigrette would be perfect, for example. But I’ve chosen a kind of guacamole. (I say kind of because I didn’t have lemons and I prefer to put more tomato than avocado, but you can do your own version).

For my dressing I just mashed the avocado, crushed the tomato, chopped the onion and mixed it all together until it gets creamy.

Once you have it you can place it in the bottom of your jar.

In the second layer I’ve decided to put baby potatoes as I am a potato lover. I just boiled them for 10 to 12 minutes, cut them in a half and seasoned them with salt, olive oil, herbs and pepper.

Next you need to do is peel and grate the carrot. And then place it on the top of your potatoes.

In the next layer I have placed some cherry tomatoes. And finally, on top of everything, a handful of spinach to give it a touch of green. (Notice that we put the spinach on the top of the salad because it gets soggy if it stays in contact with the dressing).

And this is the end! Now you are ready to pop the lid on and take it away!!

*Remember that once you are going to eat your salad you will have to shake the jar to spread the dressing and put your salad in a bowl, otherwise it would be imposible to eat.

Hope you liked it

Anna

xx

  Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

65 thoughts on “Salad in a Jar

Leave a Reply

